In split seconds

September 21, 2007 at 7:11 am 1 comment

I was involved in an accident last night. One that almost caused a person life. One that caused my heartbeat to stop momentarily at the sight of his body slamming into the road sign poll, flipping in the air, before landing on the other side of the road.

It was all within seconds. It took me a moments to snap myself out from the shock to join Noel and Ben who were already around him to check on his conditions. I can only count my blessing to know that he is still alive and none of his bones were broken. It was unbelievable to see that he only has minor injuries – few scratches on his arms and some bruises on his legs. His Yamaha 125SS was still intact despite the meter panel which were totally ripped off it’s original position, hanging on a few strands of wires. He looked calm when we helped him up, complaining of minor pain on his legs.

Accident - The inter section
 
Where it happened
 
Accident - The Poll Sign
 
The sign he hit
 
Accident - Poll
 
Plunged sign poll, reenacted
 
Accident - The Head Panel
 
The head panel
 
Accident - Front view
 
Front view
 

He must have been riding his bike around the speed of 70 to 80 km/hr. I was just coming out from Lake Garden nearby the Parliament’s building, taking in the left turn that brings me towards the split junction of KL Sentral and Jalan Duta. I’m driving on the right lane which head towards Jalan Duta. It was my worst nightmare to see what’s coming from my side mirror when I slowed down my car and switched on the left turn signal. He is in a dark colored outfits and were too fast for me to decide if I should take a drastic right turn or just speed towards the road ahead to avoid what’s coming. The next thing we know – a loud tugged sound of him hitting the left side of my car and a flying stunt that were just too awful to watch.

I was totally freaked out but I’m still able to think of the approriate steps to take. We head towards TTDI for “buka puasa” after making a phone call to 112 which direct us to the traffic police department. I’m told that we just need to file a police report between 24 hours before the police check out the incident’s location. I’m still in my sane mind to call around and ask for opinions on my next step – should I file a report or settle the case with that guy? After a few calls, I was told that the maximum penalty for causing a road accident were RM300 while repairing the bike’s head panel would cost around the range of RM250. I had my mind set for paying the compensation instead of going through the tedious and time consuming process of filing a police report.

To my surprise, Ben told me that he was a Police Officer – right after I made some phone calls outside the restaurant while they waited for the food. I don’t think it make me feel any different as I’ve already decided earlier to either file a police report or have it settle on our own terms. It was not entirely my fault as I didn’t hit him. Instead he came from behind and hit my car. I guess it was purely because I felt miserable for being a part of the accident that caused his “flying stunt” and I wanted to compensate for that.

We were back to the accident’s scene right after the dinner and waited for his friend who came after some 45 minutes – it was scary, the cars were extremely fast on both side of the road. He accepted my offer of RM350 to close the case.

I can only thanked god that I did not take a person life today. Drive safely, no matter you’re in a car or on a bike.

Uncommon magic at 07:08 hour: Life can be wrecked in a blink of eye. Live well and endure each blinking moments you have.

Entry filed under: about me, blogging, community, general interest, knowledge, motivation, time waster.

How to pissed off your employee What keeps me away from updating my blog?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. coachsusie  |  September 21, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Great story! Puts things in perspective doesn’t it. We do not realize how fast things can change and how suddenly life may never be the same. Enjoy the day for it truly is a gift!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitors

  • 92,567 people dropped by

Subscribe RSS

Pages

a2a_linkname=document.title;a2a_linkurl="http://cheapflightsexposed.wordpress.com/";

