Student Bashed – Limkokwing

July 18, 2007 at 7:15 am 6 comments

This entry is a mean to spread the news on a recent student attack in the university designated hostel building – Desaria Condominium. Poor lad got bashed up despite attending a high profile creative university that standing as one of the most expensive place to get your creative degree.


Open Letter To Limkokwing University of Creative Technology

 

Attn: Ms.Vasanthy Govindasamy/Dr.Jayles Yeoh/ Tuan Haji Kamaruddin
International Services
Limkokwing University of Creative Technology.Dear Sir/Miss,ASSAULT OF STUDENT IN THE PREMISE OF LIMKOKWING UNIVERSITY STUDENT ACCOMMODATION, DESARIA VILLA

I would like to bring your attention to the incident that took place in Desaria Villa condominiums on the 11th of July 2007. At 10.45 am, my friend Shariff Zayeem–an international student from Bangladesh–was assaulted in the Desaria Plaza area by 6-10 security guards.

The armed assault was initiated when my friend Shariff Zayeem attempted to bring a friend of his into the apartment without a visitor’s pass. The door guard confronted my friend as he walked in along with three other friends of his (two of which live in Desaria). Zayeem agreed to sign the necessary visitor documents.

While signing, Zayeem overheard the security guards speaking of him vulgarly in their own language. Aggravated, he confronted them on this. A verbal exchange took place for a short period before 5-6 guards charged at my friend with batons in their hands and continued to aggressively attack him. Two of his other friends were also attacked by a few guards.

Three people from the management who witnessed the incident from the beginning stood still as the assault took place in front of about 15 people. One of the management authorities present was the manager of Desaria Villa himself, Mr.David. The attack left my friend with terrible haemorrhage at the back of his head as a result of a baton broken on his head. His left arm was injured due to the impact of the armed beatings, and his back is badly bruised from the repetitive hits. His two friends were also bruised on several parts of their bodies.

No action was taken by the Desaria management authorities present to help my injured friend. Two friends of mine and I rushed Zayeem to the Serdang Hospital shortly after that. Ms.Vasanthy and Tuan Haji Kamaruddin were present at the hospital later to further investigate the case.

At about 4 pm, I returned to Desaria Villa to visit Shariff Zayeem. I first stopped by the Management Office with three other friends to enquire on the progress of the case where I was attended to by Mr.David. When asked, Mr.David denied his presence at the time of the incident and gave us no update on the action to be taken against the guards.

I then went to the plaza where I was informed by a friend who was present with me in management office that Mr.David had behaved towards him in a threatening manner when enquiring on who I was. I later attempted to visit Zayeem at his unit. While at the guard’s desk, I asked for a visitor’s pass to enter the building where I was denied it without reason.

Mr.David soon attended to the desk where he also told me and a friend of mine that we had been barred from entering Desaria. He gave no reason nor explanation to why this was. I consistently pursued an argument with him on why these actions were being taken against us but received no answer. Instead, Mr.David had brought over 5 men (that are not affiliated with the Desaria management) who stood behind him as he spoke to us. My friend and I, viewing it as a physical threat, decided to leave.

Before leaving, I made it clear to Mr.David that I intend on informing the media, making a police report, and taking legal actions by all procedures and acts possible if at all no actions were to be taken against the security guards and the management. I also stated that I will take all necessary actions through the University to justify my barring from the condominium–which I mentioned may result in his dismissal from the vicinity.

I truly hope the University understands that Zayeem is currently physically unfit to carry out many tasks as a result of the assault. It is primarily because of this reason that I ask of the University’s authorities to grant me admittance to the hostel so that I will be able to do things that are necessary for him as well as be there in the case of a medical emergency, if at all.

Is it really wrong of us students who are not occupants of the hostel to visit our friends there? I do not see a reason valid enough for the non-occupants of Desaria Villa to not be allowed in. Reasons such as the current situation and also times where group assignments are concerned require us to be there all night long. However, with the current unreasonable and insensible enforcements of the management, students of Limkokwing University who are not occupants of Desaria Villa are faced with problems.

The Desaria Villa management as well its security guards have proven to be incompetent in many ways in the past few days. The non-occupants as well as the occupants of Desaria Villa strongly believe that the Desaria Villa management is in dire need of an overhaul. I hope that the University takes the necessary actions to ensure that student-welfare is prioritized and no such incident will repeat again.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

kG Krishnan
Faculty of Communications, Media and Broadcasting


My friend Shariff Zayeem was assaulted on the 11th of July at 10.45 am at the University’s hostel, Desaria Villa. The 10 security guards have since been detained by the police and the University is taking action against the management of Desaria Villa according to procedure.What exactly will be done is yet to be confirmed. I am closely working on the case. Authorities have requested that I hold back all media for now. This is as much as I can do in the mean time.Please help us by reposting this blogpost.Thank you.


The above article were obtained from kG Krishnan Blog.

Entry filed under: blogging, community, general interest, knowledge, malaysia.

Muse of the Day – theHOUSE Out and Personal on Social Networking Site

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. avearez  |  July 19, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Wow. Condolences and regrets man. Why them guards so worked out? I hope yer fren recovers from this trauma.

    Reply
  • 2. kG  |  July 25, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks for the repost man. Much appreciated. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. BT  |  August 4, 2007 at 10:08 am

    Didnt Lim Kok Weng Management take action again them(the guard/Mr David) on behalf of the safety of the student? Tell more ppl about this man… this is sure need to be public notify… i goodness, hostel is mean to be safe and this is really worried off man… If this the case i will opt to move out or even move to other design school which is better and about the same fees..

    Reply
  • 4. Jaef  |  August 23, 2007 at 5:00 am

    I hadn’t heard of this incident before now. I live at Desaria and I can tell you that things are awful in terms of management and the security guards. I’m glad that you have taken the task of speaking out against this injustice. I certainly do hope that more students speak up and speak out about many of the injustices that occur at Desaria villa condominium.

    Reply
  • 5. Olagunju Stephen .A  |  October 5, 2007 at 8:00 am

    I am a fresh student from Nigeria willing to come to Limkokwing to study…but its such a awful and discouraging act seeing this unlawful things happening at a place whereby full knowledge is to be impacted …….Please I will like someone to contact me on my private email for better conversation about this so called Limkokwing University

    Reply
  • 6. Shariff Shaham  |  January 12, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    I stumbled upon this blog quite by accident. Shariff is my cousin brother. He was so disturbed by the incident that he kept it secret from the family. I am very shocked and alarmed by the instigative and aggressive attitude of the guards in Malaysia. Didnt expect it from a “developing” country such as this. I am a Director of the largest security company in Bangladesh, and I have never heard of such an unnerving atrocity involving ‘mere’ guards and students who are supposed to be the guest of the country.

    Although it has been a long time since the incident, I hope necessary actions have been taken. I dont feel sorry for my brother. He stood his ground. I am proud of him. Not all “bangladeshis” are same.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitors

  • 92,567 people dropped by

Subscribe RSS

Pages

a2a_linkname=document.title;a2a_linkurl="http://cheapflightsexposed.wordpress.com/";

