Life is about Marketing

June 20, 2007 at 8:36 am 3 comments

What is Marketing?
Quoting the definition from Contemporary Marketing Wired (1998) by Boone and Kurtz, Dryden Press:

Marketing is the process of planning and executing the conception,
pricing, promotion, and distribution of ideas, goods, services,
organizations, and events to create and maintain relationships that
will satisfy individual and organizational objectives.

Essentially, Marketing is as simple as a mean to promote anything/everything that you to know about. I relate my life events so far to Marketing because I found myself deeply into this subject of late and while I’m at it, it dawned to me that it is indeed about Marketing in my everyday life. I’ll let you have the judgement.

My Kindergarden
It was about learning to make friends and blending into the crowd. I may not realize this at that very moment, but I do remember the times when I do want to take parts in every activities available, giving the impression to teachers that I’m smart and letting them know I had great guardian that loved me like no tomorrow. It is all about marketing myself as a kid that is likeable by everybody, one that people can refer to as an example – the result? A self fulfilling prophecy that you know you did well and get to misbehaved at times, knowing that I will get over it in no time. I’ve got objective, and I’ve got result – that’s Marketing.

My College
I grow up to be a more responsible person. One who knows my responsibility in the family and toeing along the line drawn. I work hard for my tuition fees back then, taking words that felt life a knife slicing down your heart, bleeding silently. I can never be the one with his fashion sense up and running. I can never be the one scoring high in my class. I’m no programming wizard my Dad always wished I am. I’ll never get to be the chef cooking up a storm and getting rave reviews all over national tele. Cruel and harsh reality. There’s no one to blame. Past experiences mould me to be a better person that I am today. I come to understand the fact that my Marketing cohesion will never succeed back then, no matter how I wished I had try. I’m hold back by too many variables that I’m not capable of changing. How does Marketing come in? I have vision and ambition, the time is not right and there’s higher authority controlling the outcome. Marketing does not succeed unless you are capable of overwriting these obstacles at the right time and convince decision makers to support your actions.

My First Job
I still remember how ecstatic I am during the last paper of my 2 years Diploma programme. I can’t wait to get out of college, get out of my house and head on to a whole new working world. Study seems so daunting at that time only to understand at later stage that getting a job is even worst. I do not read the news nor do I follow the world events at that time. You won’t believe me if I tell you that I do not know of the Asean Economy Crisis until I came out and got my first job. It was the recovery period at that time and I have little understanding of the impact. That explains on the difficulty I faced with unsuccessful interviews for a good 2 months. No matter how hard I tried to sell myself, it doesn’t work as everyone is looking for cheap labour at top notch quality and packed with experiences while I’m as fresh as your morning glory, with zero knowledge of most of the work I’m applying for. No matter how hard sell you are, you will not succeed when there’s no demand.

Uncommon magic at 08:00: Looking at life events from a different perspective. There’s a lot of angle in one good photograph, you need to find which one you like best.

Entry filed under: community, general interest, motivation, time waster.

The Stench vs. The Jam Sharifah Amani, Stolen.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monkey Wong  |  June 20, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Mmmm…. marketing… I agree with u, something we have to do everyday, still learning…..

    Reply
  • 2. magicwizard  |  June 20, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Mr. Monkey, thanks for dropping by. Yeap, I’m still at the subject as well. Learning is a lifelong journey 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Life is about Marketing  |  June 20, 2007 at 9:49 am

    […] magicwizard Filed under Blog by Permalink • Print • Email Related EntriesThe Long Tail […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visitors

  • 92,702 people dropped by

Subscribe RSS

Pages

a2a_linkname=document.title;a2a_linkurl="http://cheapflightsexposed.wordpress.com/";

